The Gold Standards Framework

The Gold Standards Framework (for Palliative Care) BEACON LOGO

Since 2015 the staff at Walton Heath Manor have been committed to working towards achieving Gold Standards accreditation.

In September 2018 we achieved accreditation at Beacon level, this is something we are extremely proud of and we will be continuing with this hugely important and significant initiative. We will be working towards further accreditation in 2021.

The Gold Standards Framework has five key goals which are identified as follows:

  • Consistent high quality care
  • Alignment with residents’ preferences
  • Pre-planning and anticipation of needs
  • Improved staff confidence and teamwork
  • More home based, less hospital based care

This means that those residents who need palliative/supportive care towards the end of their life are identified, their needs, symptoms, preferences and any issues important to them assessed and care planned around those needs and preferences. This is undertaken throughout their journey, which encompasses assessment, review, the resident’s death and bereavement support.

The accreditation process involves a major commitment in terms of personnel and training. The reward is the creation of an exceptionally high standard of palliative care within the home.

For more information on The Gold Standards Framework please visit their website at: